Saturday, July 03, 2010

Workflows are carried over upon saving SharePoint lists as templates

If you save a list or library as a template, the attached workflows are carried over. If this is not what you need you should detach the workflow before saving it as a template and re-attach it afterwards.

You need to be aware that newly created lists from such a template may not work correctly if created in another subsite, especially when they deal with editing or looking up items in lists that are now in another subsite.

It is sometimes a pain in the neck to get rid of such a workflow after the fact so the safest way to work is to store the list as a clean template in the first place.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Enter your comment here